Homemade Veggie Sausage Pizza

Fake meats (think chik’n or fakin bacon) have always freaked me out.  Before I was vegetarian I could not understand why someone would rather eat substitutes than the real thing.  Since I’ve become vegetarian, all I can think is that those products are so full of gross chemicals and preservatives.  I like tofu and tempeh, and I’ve been interested in seitan, but I just can’t understand consuming lots of chemicals to eat a reproduction of a meat product.

A few weeks back I saw that Cate had made her own seitan.  She made it look both simple and tasty.  As I googled around, comparing recipes, I finally landed on this one for spicy Italian seitan.  Since I’ve always felt that the main flavor of Italian sausage was in the spices (especially fennel), I thought making a seitan version of Italian sausage might work.  Plus, I have no trouble with meat substitutes that are made in my own kitchen with recognizable ingredients.

Here’s the recipe for the spicy sausage again.  I added 1 tbsp of nutritional yeast to the dry ingredients, just because I like the taste.  I also added the wet ingredients slowly to the dry ingredients; I ended up needing only about 2/3 of the volume of wet ingredients before I reached a good consistency.  I’ll come up with my own recipe for this soon, but the one above is a great starting place.

I used my favorite pizza dough recipe and came up with my own pizza sauce recipe, inspired by this pizza sauce recipe.

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried marjoram
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried red pepper flakes
  • 6 ounces tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
  • 2 tablespoons honey (or more to taste)
  • 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
  • Saute the onion and garlic in the olive oil until the onion is translucent.  Add all the herbs and cook for 2-3 min.  Then add just the tomato paste, and cook for an additional 2-3 min before adding the water.  Stir in the honey to taste.  (At this point I found the tomato sauce to taste concerningly sharp and bitter, but the honey solved that problem perfectly. )  Then stir in the parmesan cheese.

    I let the pizza sauce cool while the pizza dough was rising. 

    When the pizza dough was ready, I rolled it out and topped it with the sauce, sausage slices, and mozzarella.

    veggie_sausage_pizza

    I baked the pizza at 450 degrees for approximately 25 min (until the cheese was melted and the crust was golden)

    baked_veggie_sausage_and_onion_pizza_fresh_basil

    I topped the pizza with red onion slices and fresh basil.

    sausage_onion_pizza_close_up

    It was almost shockingly good.  I need to find a carnivore to try this sausage out on, but it seemed like a pretty good sub to us!  The sausage was surprisingly easy to make.  It only has 5 minutes of hands on time, and then an hour in the oven.  None of the kneading or simmering that I was expecting with seitan.  Definitely worth a try!

     

    What are your favorite pizza toppings?  Sausage pizza used to be my favorite before I was vegetarian.  I was psyched to bring it back!

    This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    3 Responses to Homemade Veggie Sausage Pizza

    1. Cate says:

      This looks great! I might have to make that seitan for our Friday night pizza

    2. Audrey says:

      OK your blog is quickly becoming one of my favorites!!! I want to bookmark every recipe you post – they all look delicious! (And keep in mind, I have no dietary restrictions) This looks super yummy!

    3. This looks delicious. I love sausages (I’m definitely a carnivore) but I also love seitan! Good job :)

    Leave a Reply

    