Butternut Squash and Carrot Soup

While reading Cate’s blog last week, I saw her link to Branny’s Souper Bowl and knew I had to participate.  For every entry Branny gets, she’s donating to the ASPCA, which is a cause dear to my heart.  All of our pets, both from my childhood and the crazy fuzzies who keep us company today have been rescues of some sort. 

baby abby

This little munchkin didn’t even weigh 2 pounds yet when we brought her home from the shelter.  I almost named her 15 instead of Abby because she weighed just 1lb 15 oz.  I love all our cats, but this post is dedicated to my parents’ new rescue dog, Rory.

Rory_and_dad

Rory was rescued from an abusive situation and taken great care of by a foster mom before she came to live with my parents.  She is still skittish with new people, but she loves my parents and positively adores my dad.  He’s her person (if you couldn’t tell from the photo), and she follows him all around, wagging her tail.  Her little ears always perk up when he comes into the room, and it’s like you can hear her saying “That’s my dad! He rescued me!  He’s the BEST!”  She is eight years old and just a sweetheart.  It is beyond my understanding how anyone could be cruel to an animal, but I’m so grateful for the organizations that rescue animals and work to place them in loving homes.

Rory’s wearing her Christmas scarf in the picture above, but she has an orange bandana for every day, and an orange leash to match my dad’s orange hat.  Orange is my dad’s favorite color, so it only seemed fitting to make an orange soup for this post.

butternut_squash_carrot_soup

Butternut Squash and Carrot Soup

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic, diced
  • 1 small butternut squash, peeled and chopped (about 2 cups)
  • 1 large carrot, peeled and chopped
  • 1 small potato, chopped (peel on)
  • 4 cups roasted vegetable broth or veggie broth of your choice
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • paprika for garnish
  1. Start by dicing the onion and garlic, then peel and chop the butternut squash.
  2. When that’s prepared, put the olive oil in a large pot over medium heat.  Add the onion and garlic and cook until the onion is translucent.
  3. While the onion and garlic are cooking, peel and chop the carrot and chop the potato.  You can peel the potato if you like, but the soup will be pureed at the and and won’t notice the peel.
  4. When the onion is translucent, add the squash, carrot and potato to the pan.  Let this cook for 5 minutes (you want the vegetables to just start browning)
  5. Then add the vegetable broth and simmer until all the vegetables are very tender.  Taste the broth and add salt and pepper.
  6. Using an immersion blender, puree the soup.  If you don’t have an immersion blender, carefully (allow me to emphasize “carefully”) transfer the soup to a normal blender in batches and puree until smooth.
  7. Taste again and adjust the seasonings as necessary.
  8. Before serving, sprinkle just a little paprika on top of each bowl.

butternut_squash_carrot_soup_closeup

Go here to participate in Branny’s Souper Bowl, too!

This entry was posted in Food, Recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Butternut Squash and Carrot Soup

  1. Branny says:

    I love your sweet stories. Thank you for participating and thank you even more for rescuing.

  2. Cate says:

    That is the cutest cat I’ve ever seen!

  3. Louise says:

    Rory, Dad and I all say thanks – and the soup looks delicious.

  4. Aw that pup warms my heart! (the kitty is pretty darn cute too!) So glad they’ve both found great homes!

Leave a Reply

