Oakland Half Marathon Training: Week 5

This was a week full of lots of random aches and pains.  I pulled something in my left quad, and while it doesn’t hurt to run, it’s sore just walking around on it.  Also, the tops of my feet are sore, and my hill workout (literally!) kicked my butt.  I took an extra rest day this week, and I’m really glad I did.  I’ve been living in my compression socks, and “The Stick” is permanently attached to my hand.image

Last week in summary:

  • Monday: (scheduled 4-5 long hills at 5k pace) 6 miles
  • Tuesday: (scheduled 4 miles) rest
  • Wednesday: (scheduled 6 miles) 4 miles
  • Thursday: (scheduled 6 miles) 7.5 miles with 6 long hills
  • Friday: (scheduled rest) rest
  • Saturday: (scheduled 11 miles) 11 miles
  • Sunday: (scheduled rest) rest

That hill workout kicked my butt!  I took this picture from the top:

view_from_the_top

What a gorgeous place to live.  There were orange and lemon trees all along the crazy hill (and it was super steep), but even though the workout was hard, I was happy to be running in such a pretty place.

IMG_0057

Next week’s plan:

  • Monday: 4 miles
  • Tuesday: 6x880s
  • Wednesday: 7 miles
  • Thursday: rest
  • Friday: 7 miles
  • Saturday: rest
  • Sunday: 8 miles at Train with Shane

We’ll see!  I need my legs to stop feeling so beat up, so I may cut down the mileage on the two mid-week 7 milers.

This entry was posted in Oakland Half Marathon, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oakland Half Marathon Training: Week 5

  1. Kelsie says:

    Wow, that view is beautiful! Good luck with your training! Hope your aches and pains work themselves out soon.

  2. XLMIC says:

    Sounds like you’re training hard AND smart :) Good work!

  3. Naomi says:

    That hill looks brutal but you’ll be so ready for Oakland! Solid week!

Leave a Reply

