Salted Caramel Pretzel Cookies and Whoopie Pies

When I saw Theresa’s post for Chocolate Stout Cookies with Salted Caramel Frosting and Pretzels, I knew I had to make them.  They seemed like the perfect sweet and salty combination, and I’ve definitely been on a bit of a pretzels-in-baked-goods kick.  (see both granola bar recipes)

superbowl_cookies

I followed her recipe exactly, except I chopped up a dark chocolate bar instead of using chocolate chips.  I nearly got a contact sugar high just making the frosting.  Luckily the pretzels cut some of the sweetness from the frosting so the whole cookie is delicious together.  Licking the frosting spoon is the equivalent of mainlining sugar though; so don’t say I didn’t warn you!

As I was assembling the cookies I also realized that they’d make perfect whoopie pies, so I put some together like that instead.

salted_caramel_whoopie_pies_tower

Obviously I love salted caramel whoopie pies, so I’m glad to have a second version up my sleeve.

salted_caramel_whoopie_pies

Now I just need someone to eat the rest of them for me!

This entry was posted in Baking, Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Salted Caramel Pretzel Cookies and Whoopie Pies

  1. So many great baked goods coming from your kitchen recently. This sounds like a diving combo!!

  2. The Craving Chronicles says:

    As I was making them I was thinking they’d make great whoopie pies too – glad you made that happen! :)

  3. Audrey says:

    “Now I just need someone to eat the rest of them for me!”

    UM… ME!!!! ME ME ME ME ME ME ME ME ME!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

