Pantry Meals

After getting back from Boston and the blizzard, I’ve been putting off going grocery shopping. I love grocery shopping, and Berkeley Bowl is in the running to be one of my favorite places in California (sad, I know). I just wanted to see what meals I could make us from the pantry, and see if we could survive without a trip to the grocery store this week.

So far I haven’t been to the grocery store, but I’ve realized that I completely depend on fresh produce. Oh for some greens! And fresh fruit! With that said, here are some meals I could make entirely from what we already had in the house.

French Toast or Pancakes
Bean Burritos/Quesadillas
Pasta and Tomato Sauce
Macaroni and Cheese
Hawaiian Beans and Rice
Polenta with a Garlic and Sundried Tomato Sauce
Tuscan White Beans
Lemon Risotto
Grilled Cheddar, Apple and Mustard Sandwich
Thai Pumpkin Soup (in the freezer already)
Italian Wedding Soup (in the freezer already)

among others…

So it looks like we’re crazily well stocked at the moment, and yet I’m still dying for a little fresh produce. Some spinach or kale would do wonders for most of those recipes, and some peas or mushrooms would really make the risotto extra awesome. Still, I’m thinking the polenta idea is pretty inspired. I’ll be trying that out on J sometime this week. In the mean time I’ll be paging through my many new cookbooks from Christmas and trying to pick just a few produce-filled recipes to try out next week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

