Spicy Sopa de Ajo

I truly admire “real” food bloggers. Their diligence amazes me. I never think to photograph my food until I’m halfway through dinner, thinking “wow, this would make a great recipe for the blog.” Tonight will also be picture-less unfortunately, partially because I’m not on top of things, but also because this dinner came together so quickly I would barely have had time to photograph the prep anyways.

Supposedly it’s winter here in California. Based on the shorts I wore on my run this afternoon, I’m not sure I believe it. Still, I’ve been craving cozy, winter comfort food. Plus, even if the temperature doesn’t point to winter, the prices on berries and other summer produce at the grocery store definitely do. This dinner was simple, but utterly satisfying, if a little spicy.

I’ve found sopa de ajo (or garlic soup) intriguing for a while now. I adore garlic, sneaking it into all sorts of dishes when J isn’t looking. Despite my love affair with garlic, a whole soup of it seemed overpowering. Still, the idea called to me, and with such a simple list of ingredients, I deemed tonight the night for this spicy soup.

Sopa de Ajo (adapted from Love Soup by Anna Thomas)

This spice in this soup will have you channeling fire eaters if you’re not careful. Its force will tunnel new paths through your sinuses and warm you from the inside out. This version of sopa de ajo is the badass cousin of whatever soup you turn to when you feel a cold coming on. Feel free to cut back on the paprika if you want to limit the spice.

1 tbsp olive oil
5 garlic cloves, minced
1.5 tsp smoked paprika
4 cups of water
2 slices of stale sourdough bread, cubed
2 eggs
(makes 2 servings)

Heat your four cups of water up on the stove. In another small saucepan, drizzle some olive oil, and add the minced garlic. Let the garlic brown slowly for about 5 minutes, being careful not to burn it. Add the paprika, and stir to coat the garlic. Immediately add the hot water to the pot with the garlic and paprika. Stir everything together, and let the soup simmer for 5 minutes. While the soup is simmering, carefully crack each egg into a small bowl. Add the sourdough bread cubes to the simmering soup and stir. After 2 minutes, push aside the bread cubes with a wooden spoon to make a space for each egg. Slide the raw egg into the space you’ve made for it. Do NOT stir! After another 4-5 minutes, carefully scoop out the poached egg into a bowl, and add broth and bread on top of it. Scoop out the remaining egg and soup into a second bowl, and serve.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

