Spring Snack: Asparagus with a Fried Egg

3:00 is a tough time for me at work.  Our cafeteria is well stocked with trail mix, granola bars, M&Ms, cereal, and all sorts of other goodies.  Right around 3, I find myself seeking out a snack, probably just because I know those M&Ms are downstairs.  Today I managed to talk myself out of a sugary cafeteria snack with the promise of an easy, but much tastier snack when I got home. 

I remembered a few neglected spears of asparagus back in my fridge, leftover from the previous week’s CSA delivery.  Plus J and I had picked up eggs at Berkeley Bowl on Sunday.  I don’t eat eggs that often, but a fried or poached egg on top of some fresh asparagus makes a perfect snack for me that screams spring.

fresh_eggs_marin_farm 

Obviously I chose the blue egg for my snack.  The asparagus had seen better days, but I snapped off the bottom of the stems and revived it as best I could.

asparagus_and_farm_fresh_egg

I added just a tiny bit of butter to two small skillets, and added the asparagus first, and then added the egg to its own tiny skillet a few minutes later.  Also, I have an important question: how do food bloggers avoid getting sticky fingerprints all over their cameras?  It seems like an occupational hazard.  Also, speaking of occupational hazards, look what I have to contend with in the kitchen.

cat_on_kitchen_counter

I swear that every time I reach for the camera, she hops up to check on my progress.

fried_egg_over_asparagus

A drippy egg over sautéed asparagus.  Some days a snack is more satisfying when you have to put a little more effort into it than just scooping the cereal out of the bin at work.

 

What do you have to satisfy the afternoon hungry horrors?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Spring Snack: Asparagus with a Fried Egg

  1. I just can’t get enough asparagus – love that veggie! 🙂

    • Beth says:

      I love it too, we’re getting it in our CSA delivery tomorrow as well. I’m jealous of your zucchini overload though! It’s one of my favorite veggies 🙂 Thanks for visiting!

  2. Errign says:

    Mmm, love asparagus & drippy eggs, though I’ve never had them together.

    Yesterday’s afternoon snack was a piece of sprouted grain toast with peanut butter & the day before it was a protein muffin a la Deb at Smoothie Girl Eats

    • Beth says:

      Yum! I do a lot of Ezekiel English muffins with almond butter as snacks too. I’ve been seeing the protein muffin on a lot of blogs lately. I think I’m going to have to check it out! Thanks for visiting!

  3. 321delish says:

    I never thought to put these two together (not in an omelet) but um LOOKS SO GOOD! I will definitely be trying this.

  4. Natalie says:

    ummm a blue egg?!?! way too awesome. i want to eat a blue egg! im living in SF this summer so im def gonna get (back) on the awesome california produce wagon. i miss home but will be back in cali in a week! so psyched =)

Leave a Reply

