Fava and White Bean Salad over Polenta

Yum! When the CSA box came last week, I was psyched to see fava beans.  I love fava beans, but they are so much work.  At the time, I was stalling because I was nervous about my scheduled workout.  So, in order to postpone the run a little further, I shelled, and then shelled again.  I’ve loved fava beans since I first bought the furry pods at the Union Square Farmers Market in Cambridge several years ago.  I didn’t know what they were when I bought them the first time, but chef Google answered my questions, and I carefully took them out of the pod, blanched them, and shelled them.  They were so green, the color was amazing.  I ate several and was certain that they tasted like spring, fresh and green.  That first night I cooked them with pancetta, which was overdoing things a little, but tasted wonderful as I ate the whole bowl by myself curled up in my kitchen.

Now in Berkeley, after finishing the onerous task of shelling the fava beans, I went out and tackled my scary workout (a 5 mile run with 2 miles at 10k tempo).  I came back with an 8:55 and an 8:48 splits tucked proudly under my belt.  I was hungry, and in need of a quick victory dinner.  I dreamed this one up on the fly, but absolutely loved it.  This is Beth food, gorgeous colors, light and delicious.  This dish would definitely make the menu in my imaginary future restaurant.

Fava_Bean_and_White_Bean_Salad

Fava and White Bean Salad

An easy and quick spring salad; once you’ve shelled the favas the whole thing comes together in 5 minutes.  It’s fresh and light immediately, and gets better as it sits.

1 lb fava beans, shelled

1 can small white kidney beans, rinsed and drained

1/2  red onion

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

juice and zest of 1 lemon

salt and pepper to taste

Finely dice the red onion, and combine it with the shelled favas and white beans.  In a small bowl, whisk together the olive oil, vinegar, lemon juice, lemon zest, and salt and pepper.  Pour the dressing over the bean salad, and stir to combine.

I paired this with a tomato salad so simple it seems silly to give a recipe for it.  I just halved some heirloom cherry tomatoes, combined it with the other half of the diced red onion, and  some fresh basil leaves.  I drizzled a little olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and salt and pepper over the whole thing.

Tomato_Basil_Bruschetta

I ate both the fava bean salad and the tomato salad over little polenta cakes fried in just a bit of olive oil.  A little grated parmesan completed the dish. 

White_Bean_Fava_Bean_Tomato_Polenta2

I absolutely adore spring. Smile

 

Do you find yourself eating different things as the seasons change?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fava and White Bean Salad over Polenta

  1. Pingback: Polenta with Chanterelle Mushrooms and Kale | Boston to Berkeley

Leave a Reply

