Recovery Snack Macaroons

I love coconut.  Love, love, love coconut.  I sneak it into cakes and brownies and oatmeal, and no Mounds or Almond Joy is safe in my house.  Despite my love for coconut, I came late to macaroons.  They weren’t a cookie I grew up with; I came from a classic chocolate chip cookie house.  I first started to obsess think about macaroons as they made many repeat appearances on The Fitnessista.  Gina’s ‘roons are always drool-worthy.

I’ve played with a bunch of macaroon recipes in the last few years, and I didn’t really have a favorite.  Over the last few weeks I’ve been searching for a post-run recovery snack that would have some protein (along with all the awesome carbs).  I came across a ton of recommendations for chocolate milk, and a lot of people eating toast and almond butter.  Sometimes I like a post run smoothie, but I was looking for something super simple that I could just cram in my mouth as I stumbled in the door (classy, I know). 

This recipe came out of my love for macaroons and my need for a post run snack.  Plus they were psuedo-inspired by my regular reading of The Fitnessista; macaroons and protein powder just make me think of Gina Smile

Vanilla_Macaroons_Protein_Powder_recovery_snack

 

 

Recovery Snack: Protein Powder Macaroons

These quick and easy cookies make a perfect post-run snack, post-dinner snack, post-snack snack… You name it.  Plus they take less than 20 minutes from recipe to cookie.

1 large banana, mashed

1/4 cup agave nectar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp coconut extract

1 cup shredded, unsweetened coconut

1/2 cup spelt flour

1/2 cup all purpose flour

2 tablespoons vanilla protein powder (I’m liking this one right now)

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

 

1. Preheat the oven to 375*C

2. Mix together the mashed banana, agave nectar, and vanilla and coconut extracts. 

3. In a separate small bowl, sift together the coconut, flours (you can also use all spelt or all APF, I just like the combination of the two), protein powder, baking soda, and salt.

4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, and mix to combine. 

5.  Roll 12 small balls of dough, and place them on a cookie sheet.

6. Bake for 10min or until golden.

 

I knew these were a hit, when J stole 3 of them over the course of 30min.  Every time he walked past the kitchen table another cookie disappeared (and he doesn’t even like coconut much!).  One or two of these make a perfect post long run snack.  I’ve had them with a smear of maple almond butter, coconut butter, chocolate hazelnut butter (to die for), and naked.  They’re pretty perfect just by themselves!

 

What’s your favorite post-exercise snack?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recovery Snack Macaroons

  1. Bridget says:

    Thanks for the tip on that New Belgium sour ale!! I’ll have to try it! I just ran my first half marathon a little over a week ago so it was fun reading your recap! Those macaroons sound awesome!!

Leave a Reply

