CSA Special: Radish Pizza with Caramelized Onions, Arugula, and Gruyere

We’ve been getting a lot of radishes in our CSA box lately, and I can only put so many radishes in my salads.  Radishes have always called to me at the farmers market.  They’re just so darn colorful and cute, tucked amid the bunches and bunches of greens.  Red and pink and purple accent colors make all the other farmers market greens pop in the spring.  Radishes usually bring some of the first color to the farmers market, and every year, with absolutely no idea what I’m going to DO with them, I find myself walking away with bunches of radishes, nestled on top of a bed of kale and spinach and chard (hopefully rainbow chard; I shop by color).

Every year, I get the radishes home, contemplate the pretty colors, and turn to my cookbooks and google to figure out what to do with them.  Sometimes I take the no-brainer approach and put them in salads.  I’ve tried roasting and braising them, but somehow these cooking methods seem like a winter assault on these spring veggies, akin to a blizzard in June.  I went through a period of loving Molly Wizenberg’s radishes on a baguette with butter and sea salt, but now in Berkeley I was looking for a new recipe for radishes.  We’ve gotten the pretty bunches in our CSA the last three weeks running, and I’d run out of steam on my other radish preparations. 

I liked the idea of thin slices of radishes, mimicking pepperoni slices on a pizza.  The rest of this pizza was born out of what we had in the fridge, including gruyere (left over from an epic macaroni and cheese recipe of J’s) and arugula.  I thought tomato sauce would totally overwhelm the rest of the pizza, and I’ve had great luck with caramelized onions as a pizza base, so I went that route instead. 

I tried a new pizza dough recipe from Nook and Pantry that worked perfectly.  This will definitely be my new go-to recipe.  I went with the regular pizza dough and not the extra crispy because our easy bake oven (seriously, our Ikea oven needs special cookie sheets because it’s too small for standard size sheets) can’t fit a pizza stone, and doesn’t go any higher than 480 degrees.  I added a tablespoon of garlic salt and about a tablespoon of chopped fresh rosemary to the pizza dough.  I was so psyched to see it rise! (I have a problem of accidentally murdering boiling yeast). 

As soon as I set the dough aside to rise, I chopped one large yellow onion and one large red onion and dropped them in the skillet with olive oil to start caramelizing.  You want to caramelize the onions over as low heat as possible.  I start the onions as soon as I set the dough aside to rise, and I let them cook the whole time the dough is rising.  I layered the caramelized onions on top of the pizza dough, followed by radish slices and the grated gruyere, and topped the pizza with arugula once it came out of the oven.

radish_gruyere_arugula_caramelized_onion_pizza

Radish, Arugula and Gruyere Pizza with Caramelized Onions

  • one recipe of the pizza dough here (makes enough for 3 pizzas)
  • 1 tbsp cornmeal
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 large onions (I used one yellow and one red)
  • one bunch of radishes, radishes sliced thinly
  • 2 cups of grated gruyere
  • 1 cup of arugula

Preheat your oven to 480 (that’s as high as mine goes, you’ll do well to set your oven as high as it will go)

Chop the onions, and caramelize them in a large skillet with the olive oil (this may take 45min-1hr) over very low heat

TIP: I always put a little olive oil on my hands before working with the dough.  I find it works better than flour for keeping the dough from sticking to your hands.

Once the dough has risen, separate it into three equal balls (we just made three medium sized pizzas, but you can also freeze the dough for later).    Stretch the dough out into a circle (about 14” in diameter). 

Shake about 1 tbsp of cornmeal onto the cookie sheet or pizza stone, then transfer the pizza dough to the cookie sheet.

Pour the caramelized onions onto the pizza dough, and spread the mixture out evenly across the pizza dough. 

Top with thinly sliced radishes and the grated gruyere cheese.

Bake at 480 degrees for about 15min, or until the crust is golden brown.

Top the hot pizza immediately with the arugula, which will wilt slightly from the heat.

Enjoy!

 

closeup_radish_pizza

 

How do you like to eat radishes?  Are you easily seduced by pretty colors at the farmers market too?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to CSA Special: Radish Pizza with Caramelized Onions, Arugula, and Gruyere

  1. Laci says:

    Good stuff Beth! This pizza looks great.

  2. Finally made this tonight with the last of our radishes from two weeks ago. I used Fontina instead of Gruyere and it was SO GOOD!

  3. This is a great idea for using radishes (we also got a bunch in last week’s CSA… along with 5 heads of lettuce. eesh!).

Leave a Reply

