Berry Season: Strawberries and blueberries and raspberries, oh my!

Berry season is my favorite time of the year.  You know the Staples commercial for back to school, where the parents frolic through Staples singing It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year ?  Well that’s how I feel about berry season.  I mean just look at the snacks you can have in the spring.

The ultimate fruit salad, all good stuff and no filler:

Strawberry_blueberry_raspberry_salad

Strawberries and kiwis: tasty and colorful.

Strawberry_Kiwi_salad

 

Raspberries and peaches, just about the best springtime combo

Raspberry_apricot_salad

 

The only thing that makes berry season less than perfect this year is that I haven’t found a U-Pick berry farm near Berkeley. U-Pick farms are so common back in Massachusetts, and every year my mom and I would go and pick pounds and pounds of strawberries or blueberries. The fruit I’m eating now is farmers market fresh and tastes amazing, but nothing is as good a sunny strawberry right off the vine.

Still, fruit right now is so sweet, I almost don’t need my usual piece of dark chocolate for dessert.  Well… that might be pushing it.  Raspberries and chocolate do go awfully well together. Smile

What’s your favorite fruit or fruit salad combo?

Have you ever picked your own berries?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Berry Season: Strawberries and blueberries and raspberries, oh my!

  1. 321delish says:

    I CAN’T GET ENOUGH! I have been putting berries on salads, in sauces on meats, in yogurt parfaits, on ice cream! so good.

  2. Page says:

    You can never go wrong with strawberries and bananas – never!

Leave a Reply

