Our Berkeley Garden: Week Six

It’s been a while now, and I’m totally amazed at how our garden has taken off.  Looking back to week one, I was so worried that nothing would grow!  We have lettuce coming out of our ears, and I haven’t had to buy kale, swiss chard, or zucchini from the grocery store in the last month. 

our_berkeley_garden_week_six

When we first planted the garden, everything had so much space.  Now the lettuce and the kale are all crowding together, and the zucchini plant is out of control.

our_berkeley_garden_zucchini

Or, to put it a little more in perspective:

kitten_zucchini

We’re growing kitten sized zucchini over here.

our_berkeley_garden_tomatoes

Our tomatoes are outgrowing their wine barrels, but so far no sign of tomatoes.  Lots of blossoms and tomato flowers though!

our_berkeley_garden_plum_tree

The plum trees in our backyard are full of fruit.  I’ll have to start searching out recipes for jam.  We have two trees that are absolutely packed with plums.

our_berkeley_garden_avocado_tree

Our avocado tree even has …. something.  Is this going to be an avocado?

Do you have a garden? Also, do you think that’s an avocado on our tree? I’m skeptical 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Our Berkeley Garden: Week Six

  1. Alyssa says:

    WAaaaaaa! So jealous!!

    • Beth says:

      I wish I could take credit for any of it, but I’m kind of amazed we haven’t killed anything yet! Many, many window sill basil plants have died at my hands in the past.

  2. Naomi says:

    your garden looks amazing! i wish i had the space to garden! what kind of lettuce are you growing? i’ve been getting bib lettuce from the farmers market lately and i think they are my favorite!

    • Beth says:

      Thank you! we’re growing flame lettuce and bibb lettuce … way too much of both! I don’t think we ever expected all 12 plants to survive! Plus when they were tiny seedlings, it was hard to imagine they’d ever produce so much lettuce. Do you have any outdoor or window sill space at all? I think lettuce does pretty well in pots, too. I can attest to its hardiness, as I haven’t killed a single plant yet 🙂

  3. Louise says:

    Looks like an avocado to me! Love the kitten and the zucchini!

  4. Jes says:

    Awesome garden! I’m jealous! I’m trying to keep mine going, but the soil is so sandy here most of my plants have withered. 😦

  5. Pingback: Our Berkeley Garden: Week Eight | Boston to Berkeley

Leave a Reply

