Ice Cream Sandwiches for the Fourth of July

ice_cream_sandwich_cookie_sheet

I skipped the red, white and blue theme for dessert this fourth.  To be honest, the blue glitter dipped strawberries kind of freaked me out, and red, white and blue cake just makes me think of what chemicals are in the food coloring. 

Also, J has a thing for chocolate chip cookies.  I’ve been using this recipe lately with great success.  I usually make 6-12 cookies at a time, and freeze the rest of the dough to use later.  I wanted to make homemade ice cream sandwiches, but I wasn’t sure the easiest way to get the ice cream to be even between the cookies.  Letting the ice cream melt enough to spread it between the cookies gets messy quickly.  Luckily J’s engineering brain came to the rescue.

 

ice_cream_sandwich_slice

He took a knife to the pint of Haagen-Dazs, and cut thin slices out of the bottom of the pint of ice cream.

ice_cream_sandwich_slice 2

Then he cut into the container surrounding the ice cream slice.

ice_cream_sandwich_unwrapping

And peeled the wrapper off the ice cream slice.

ice_cream_sandwich_complete

Allowing us to perfectly assemble our chocolate chip ice cream sandwiches!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ice Cream Sandwiches for the Fourth of July

  1. Cate says:

    I really wish I’d seen this post earlier! That is a brilliant way to make ice cream sandwiches! I tried making some yesterday but let the ice cream get to soft and they ended up being a total mess 😦

  2. What a cool method for making these! I agree the red, white and blue can be a little scary unless the colors come from berries and cream!

  3. Kristen says:

    Yum!! I always wondered how when people made these their ice cream looked so perfect – great idea! Hope you had a great 4th.

  4. That’s totally brilliant to just cut the pint into slices! Hope you had a great holiday… I’m sure it was extra delicious with ice cream sandwiches 😉

  5. Alyssa says:

    BRILLIANT. This can’t be hard to veganize either… he may be on to something! Definitely a keeper. 🙂

    • Beth says:

      This should be easily vegan-izable… now you have me craving coconut ice cream at 9 AM! A trip to Berkeley Bowl is definitely in my future..

Leave a Reply

