Tomatoes and Peppers Stuffed with Quinoa, Zucchini and Pesto

We’ve been over run with produce lately.  Between the bounty of our garden and our CSA deliveries, I’ve needed to come up with some creative, veggie heavy recipes.  A girl can only eat so many salads!

This recipe used our kitten sized zucchini:

kitten_zucchini

Plus a full harvest from our crazy basil plants (which grew all the basil leaves we’d picked back by the next day)

basil_plants_week_six

Our CSA box contributed tomatoes and some sweet gypsy peppers, and our pantry contributed the quinoa.  Every time I make quinoa I have to look up the ratio, so I’m writing it down here.  One part quinoa to three parts liquid!  I cooked 3/4 cup of quinoa in veggie broth, and while it was cooking, I shredded my kitten-sized zucchini in the food processor.  I scooped most of the zucchini out into a bowl, leaving about a 1/4 cup of the shredded zucchini in the food processor bowl.  I added that rest of my anytime pesto ingredients to the 1/4 cup of zucchini, and blended in the food processor. 

I folded another 1/2 cup of shredded zucchini into the cooked quinoa added the pesto to that mixture and stirred everything together.  I let that sit, and scooped out the inside of 5 tomatoes and our 3 remaining sweet peppers.  (I saved the tomato insides to use in a sauce later)  I scooped the quinoa, zucchini, pesto filling into the tomatoes and peppers.  There was about a cup of filling left over, which I hope to turn into quinoa zucchini fritters later this week.

tomatoes_peppers_stuffed_quinoa_zucchini_pesto

I grated some parmesan over the stuffed tomatoes and peppers, and put them in the oven at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes.  There’s no reason you couldn’t eat these without the extra baking (especially if it’s too hot to turn on the oven), but I wanted to melt the cheese.  Yum!  These were so good, and fresh, and bursting with flavor from the pesto.  Not a bad way to use up lots and lots of veggies!

pesto_quinoa_tomatoes

 

What are your favorite veggie heavy recipes?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tomatoes and Peppers Stuffed with Quinoa, Zucchini and Pesto

  1. Wow – you’ve got quite the bounty out there in SF. Our CSA in Boston is also quite generous. I usually turn to simple stirfries and salads to use up veggies but should definitely stuff them more often!

    • Beth says:

      I usually eat a salad for lunch every day, and by the time dinner comes around I can’t stomach the idea of a second salad. Problematic with all the lettuce we have! I do a lot of stirfries too, usually after I get worried that the last bit of produce is about to turn on me 🙂

  2. biz319 says:

    Those look delicious!! I tend to use up veggies in crustless quiches, or quick stir frys. Here is my latest breakfast casserole – you could stuff a whole bunch of veggies in this:

    http://mybizzykitchen.com/2011/07/06/how-to-hole-your-corn-cob/

    • Beth says:

      Yum! Thanks for sharing the recipe link. I also love using up veggies in frittatas and omelets. The eggs give the veggies some extra staying power.

  3. Cate says:

    YUM. I made stuffed peppers last night too! They are such a great way to pack in tons of vegetables. I’ve made this recipe a few times and it’s super veg-heavy too:
    http://www.pink-parsley.com/2011/04/vegetable-enchiladas.html

    • Beth says:

      Haha, I’m just responding to comments now, after prepping dinner, and we’re having veggie enchiladas too! Ours have sweet peppers, kale, zucchini, onion, and zucchini flowers. I truly don’t understand vegetarians who live on pasta.. there are so many things you can do with vegetables!

  4. Naomi says:

    the stuffed peppers and tomatoes look so good! i am definitely going to try to make this!

  5. Kristen says:

    Yum! When we did CSA boxes I made a lot of homemade sauces and veggie casseroles. There for a while we would get pounds of tomatoes each week. I had enough sauce for 6 months!

    • Beth says:

      That’s so smart. I have this weird fear of canning things and glass explosions. I think I’m going to have to get over that because having homemade sauce or salsa come winter would be wonderful!

Leave a Reply

