Rustic Plum Tart

The plum trees in our back yard have been positively prolific (and inspiring of alliteration).  We’ve made plum jam (lots and lots) which is worthy of a post all its own.  Frankly, the immensely self-satisfied feeling you get from canning your own jam and hearing the lids vacuum shut could probably make up for the most horrible mistake-filled day at work.  Or maybe that’s just me.

Anyways, we had a lot of plums.  They were literally littering our backyard.  After some searching, I came across this Orangette recipe.  I’m always thrilled when I go recipe searching and one of the blogs I read pops up in the response.  Some how I put more trust in the bloggers I read regularly than I do in AllRecipes or Epicurious.

I made the dough by hand because I’ve had a run of bad luck making dough in my food processor.  I just took two butter knives to the mix and used them to cut everything together.  Don’t get me wrong, this way is probably more nerve wracking than the food processor method, but I was feeling distrustful of technology.  Besides, I’ve made so much pesto this summer that I suspect anything made in my food processor for a while will be slightly basil flavored.

The dough came together and I dumped the whole mess in the tart pan and pressed it into shape.  I just laid the plum slices on top of the tart; I didn’t press them in as Molly recommended, mostly because these plums were so ripe they fell apart if pushed too hard.

rustic_plum_tart_prebaking

After just under an hour of baking at 380 (because my oven doesn’t do five degree increments. Thanks Ikea)

sugar_plum_tart_baking

Next time I’d either make a little more dough, or use a slightly smaller tart pan.  The center of the tart was moist and cake-y, but the edges were a little drier.

baked_sugar_plum_tart_close up

Still, the tart was gone in approximately 30 hours.  And I can only blame J for a few slices.  I can attest that it makes an excellent accompaniment to your morning cup of coffee.

I’m loving tarts lately.  You don’t have to worry about them rising like a cake, and you just smush (that’s a technical term) the dough into the pan, so you don’t have to worry about dough ripping or being too thin or too thick.  Plus, once you’ve pulled them out of the pan, the fluting looks so pretty and requires no effort on your part. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rustic Plum Tart

  1. Cate says:

    I’ve been on a tart kick this summer too… I think I need to get some plums and try this. It’s beautiful!

  2. Dude, beth, this is gorgeous! well done.

Leave a Reply

