A Perfect Snack: Popcorn with Truffle Salt

You may have seen me raving about this snack on twitter lately.

image

Because if you can be addicted to truffle salt, I have a problem.  I even tried to participate in #fitblog while eating my favorite snack but this didn’t go over so well.  See, I have this strange habit of eating my popcorn with chopsticks.  Chopsticks+popcorn+typing was less than easy, but I managed.  I started eating popcorn with chopsticks when I was in college.  I did taekwondo, and my black belt test was coming up.  My instructor at the time told me that he wouldn’t let me pass the test until I learned to use chopsticks.  So I practiced on popcorn and Cheerios, and somehow the habit stuck.  Chopsticks keep you from throwing back the whole snack in a few huge handfuls, and it also keeps your hands from getting greasy.  Plus, it’s kind of fun.

popcorn_with_chopsticks

Still, the chopsticks are not the essential part of this snack.  That would be the truffle salt.  I’m talking about this kind of truffle as opposed to the chocolate truffle.  Not that chocolate and salt isn’t one of those perfect flavor combinations, but that’s not what we’re talking about here.  J brought this home one night to use on a pasta dish he was making for us.  Thus I can safely disavow any knowledge of what it cost, and use it liberally on my popcorn to my heart’s content.

black_truffle_salt

According to Marx Foods, “To make truffle salt, black summer truffles are dehydrated or dried and then ground into tiny pieces. When blended with fine sea salt, they become the perfect seasoning for steaks, poultry, and any other food you want to enhance with truffle flavor.”  Look at it.  Magical.

Black_truffle_salt2

My grocery store has tricolored corn kernels, and I buy those to pop, but that’s only necessary because the purple popcorn kernels make me smile.  To pop the popcorn, I put 1 tbsp of safflower or coconut oil in a pan, and toss in 3-4 kernels.  When those have popped, I add 1/3 cup of kernels, and pull the pot off the heat and shake it for 30 seconds.  Supposedly that gets everything to the same temperature so all the kernels will pop together.  I’ve found it works pretty well.  When the pops slow to a 10 seconds between pops, your popcorn is done.  Then just sprinkle the popcorn with truffle salt, and commence eating with chopsticks.  Or your hands if you just can’t wait.

popcorn_with_chopsticks_closeup

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Perfect Snack: Popcorn with Truffle Salt

  1. Are you just using a normal kitchen pot/pan? with like the lid on? I usually pop my popcorn in the microwave. never heard of truffle salt – but I may just try and track some down 😉

    -@Ashleysh22

  2. Beth says:

    Yup, just a normal pot with the lid on! My lid is glass, so I can see the popcorn popping. I like it so much better than microwave popcorn (though there is always a time for lots of butter!)

Leave a Reply

