Individual Apple Pies with Puff Pastry

Here’s that simple apple pie recipe I was talking about to use up your extra puff pastry.  I adore apple pie.  My grandmother in Vermont makes the very best apple pie. (I’m not biased at all.  I’ve eaten a LOT of apple pie!) 

In elementary school, we had to write spelling sentences , one for each spelling word.  I remember the week that “best” was a spelling word because my sentence was “My grandmother makes the best apple pie in the whole world.”  My teacher wrote on my paper “No, my mother makes the BEST apple pie.”  That started an apple pie war via spelling sentences, and I tried to work my grandmother’s apple pie making expertise into every possible spelling sentence that year. 

My grandmother’s apple pies are so stellar in part because she makes an amazing pie crust.  I could tell you that this is an apple pie shortcut, but I like to think of this recipe as a creative way of using up extra puff pastry instead.  Real apple pie shouldn’t involve a shortcut.  Nothing compares to Grandma’s apple pie, but five minutes of hands on time will make leftover pastry into a memorable dessert.

apple_pie_filling

Mini Apple Pies

If you have leftover puff pastry these are so simple to put together, and taste like they required a lot more work!

Ingredients

1 large, tart apple, peeled and chopped

1/2 cup sugar (I used vanilla sugar because that’s what I had on hand)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tbsp flour

1/2 sheet puff pastry

 

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. In a small bowl, mix together the apple, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and flour.  Stir until the apple pieces are thoroughly coated.
  3. Butter two 12 oz ramekins.
  4. Split the apple mixture between the two ramekins.
  5. Top each ramekin with a circle of puff pastry.  Cut vent holes in the top of each.
  6. Bake for 15-20 min, or until the crust is golden brown, and the apple filling is soft (check with a fork).

baked_min_apple_pie

 

What’s your favorite kind of pie?

Apple pie is far and away my favorite, though earlier this year J and I won a pie making competition with a pretty awesome raspberry key lime pie.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Individual Apple Pies with Puff Pastry

  1. Audrey says:

    I don’t own 12 oz ramekins (just the smaller ones) and I’ve never tried using pastry puffs but now I want to get both bc of these recipes!!!!

    • Beth says:

      You could certainly make these smaller or larger depending on your ramekin size. My only other size is 3 oz, and that’s more like one bite of apple pie 🙂

  2. This looks amazing – and so simple. I am definitely whipping some of these mini pies up for a gathering with friends next week 🙂

  3. Beth says:

    Glad you liked them! They really are so easy. Guess all the work in pie making has always been in the pie crust part!

  4. J says:

    How is it that I live with you and haven’t had these?!….

  5. Pingback: Butternut Squash and Goat Cheese Tart | Boston to Berkeley

  6. Pingback: Apple Cranberry Turnovers | Boston to Berkeley

  7. Pingback: Looking Back on 2011 | Boston to Berkeley

  8. Puff & Pie says:

    I surely was wondering and missed ur recipes! Good to have u back with the lovely pot pies. I haven’t had my lunch yet and if u care to share, I’ll be delighted. puff & pie

Leave a Reply

