Radish, Cucumber and Apple Slaw with a Spicy Honey-Lime Dressing

We’ve had more radishes in our CSA lately.  I never know quite what to do with radishes.  When we get beets in the CSA box, my brains goes “juice!” or “roasted with goat cheese and walnuts!”  When we get kale, my brain has 5 instant ideas, and with tomatoes the ideas seem boundless.  I always have more ideas than tomatoes.  With radishes though, I always think “radishes are so cute!”  I never seem to think “wow, I’m so glad these are in my kitchen so I can roast them in a honey-balsamic glaze.” Although, now that you mention it, that does seem like a good idea.

So when I was faced with these radishes, I hadn’t yet had the roasted honey-balsamic glaze moment of brilliance yet.  We were having a taco night party with friends though, and I liked the idea of a crunchy component to the tacos.  I knew the radishes would give both crunch and a good dose of pepperiness.  We always have cucumbers in the fridge for juicing, and I thought some apple would add a nice sweet component to the slaw.  Generally, I don’t like slaw.  I’ll take double french fries over the offer of coleslaw any day.  I just don’t love shredded cabbage and mayonnaise.  So even as I was making this dish, I was a little skeptical.

radish_cucumber_apple_lime_slaw

I’d already started dicing up my radishes when I took this picture.  You’ll need 4-5 radishes, half an apple, and half a cucumber for the slaw.  The lime comes in later as part of the dressing.

radish_matchsticks

This dish is very labor intensive on the knife work.  I did all the cutting by hand, getting each piece into these little matchsticks.  I’ve heard tell that a mandoline would make this a lot easier, and I think you might be able to use the slicing attachment for a food processor effectively too.

radish_apple_cucumber_slaw 

Radish, Cucumber and Apple Slaw

Makes a great crunchy taco topping.  This would also adapt easily to new flavors if you changed up the dressing.  A soy-ginger dressing would make this a nice addition to an Asian-influenced dish.

Ingredients

  • 4-5 radishes
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 1/2 apple
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • pinch of salt
  1. Cut the radishes, cucumber and apple into matchsticks, approximately 1”-1.5” long. 
  2. Mix together in a small bowl.
  3. Juice the lime into a prep bowl.
  4. Whisk the honey, apple cider vinegar, red pepper flakes and salt into the lime juice.
  5. Pour the dressing over the vegetable mixture and stir to coat evenly.
  6. Allow the slaw to sit in the fridge for at least 30min to marinate before serving.

I even surprised myself with how much I liked this, considering my unfortunate childhood recollections of coleslaw.  I’m already dreaming up a carrot and apple version with a honey ginger dressing that could easily sneak its way into a Thanksgiving dinner.

radish_apple_cucumber_slaw_closeup

 

Do you have strong feelings about coleslaw?  Or would you rather have double french fries too?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Radish, Cucumber and Apple Slaw with a Spicy Honey-Lime Dressing

  1. Cate says:

    I adore coleslaw, even when it’s like half mayo (I know, that’s gross). This sounds amazing on tacos! I need to get some radishes…

    • Beth says:

      I never have problems getting radishes! They’re so cute they speak to me from the farmer’s market tables, and I get home with three bunches and go “…..”

  2. This is a fantastic idea. I forced myself to eat raw radishes in salads throughout the summer (our CSA seemed to really like them too!) – but I love the idea of the slaw! I bet the apple and cucumber really complemented the radish!

    • Beth says:

      Thanks, Emily! I’d done raw radishes in salads, sliced radishes with salt, and radishes with bread and butter, but I was feeling radished out. This actually makes a great snack all by itself if you like crunchy things!

  3. Pingback: Taco Night and Making Your Own Corn Tortillas | Boston to Berkeley

  4. I had coleslaw that i liked for the first time ever the other day, mainly because of the fact it was mostly apples. Cabbage and I really don’t get along. This recipe looks delicious 🙂 I will have to try it.

Leave a Reply

