Butternut Squash and Goat Cheese Tart

At the Berkeley Farmers’ Market this weekend, I picked up a goat cheese and butternut squash tart for breakfast. 

butternut_squash_goat_cheese_tart

It was wonderful, and I was determined to recreate it in my own kitchen.  I was a little limited by an irrational fear of pastry crust.  Turns out that a food processor makes pie crust down right manageable.

I followed this recipe for the pie crust.  The recipe makes enough for four of these small tarts.  I made just two, and put the rest of the dough in the fridge for some recipe that I haven’t come up with yet.

Before I tackled the pie crust task though, I peeled a butternut squash, chopped it into 1/2” cubes, and roasted it with a little olive oil and seasoning salt at 400 degrees until the squash was brown and crispy.

I rolled out two small rounds of dough, piled about 3/4 cup of butternut squash in the center, and topped it with goat cheese and a little sage.  I just folded the edges in like I was wrapping up a package.

butternut_squash_goat_cheese_sage_tart

I baked the tart at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes, until the crust was golden brown.

baked_butternut_squash_tart

I wanted to top this with a little fresh sage for the pop of green in the picture, but I was too hungry to head out to the garden and steal a few extra leaves.  I actually liked my tart even better than the one from the market, but mine had the benefit of being straight from the oven.  The crust was perfectly flaky, leading me to believe that the recipe I linked might be fool proof. 

Butternut Squash and Goat Cheese Tart

 

The linked pie crust recipe comes together so easily in a food processor. You’ll only need half a recipe to make these tarts, so put the rest in the fridge and use it for a simple apple tart or cut out two round pie crusts to top miniature apple pies.

Ingredients

1/2 butternut squash, peeled and chopped into 1/2” cubes

olive oil

salt and pepper

2 oz goat cheese

4 sage leaves, cut in a chiffonade

1 recipe of pie crust

 

  1. Drizzle olive oil on the butternut squash in the roasting pan, and season with salt and pepper.  Roast at 400 degrees for 40 minutes, or until the butternut squash cubes are golden brown.
  2. Divide the pie crust into four even pieces.  (Refrigerate two of those pieces for later.  Perhaps to top mini apple pies)
  3. Roll out the two remaining pieces to a thin, even circle.
  4. Put each circle onto a cookie sheet.
  5. Place 3/4 cup of the roasted squash in the center of each sheet.
  6. Top the squash with goat cheese and sage leaves.
  7. Fold in the sides of the tart, and pinch the corners closed.
  8. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes, or until the crust is golden brown.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Butternut Squash and Goat Cheese Tart

  1. Cate says:

    Love the looks of these! I think I might do bite-sized ones as an appetizer at Thanksgiving!

    • Beth says:

      Thanks, Cate! a bite sized version of these is a great idea! I bet you could even do them in a mini muffin tin for less dough folding and a less rustic look

  2. Great minds def think alike!! I will try these tarts next time πŸ™‚ I love the combo of butternut squash and goat cheese.

  3. Sounds wonderful – is there a cookbook brewing?

  4. That sounds & sounds amazing. Hooray for squash season! πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Apple Cranberry Turnovers | Boston to Berkeley

  6. Pingback: Blended Vegetable Soups | Boston to Berkeley

  7. Pingback: Mushroom, Tofu and Bok Choy Soup with Homemade Noodles | Boston to Berkeley

Leave a Reply

