Vegan Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

I’ve been meaning to bake for my coworkers for a while now.  A bunch of our desks are all together, and we’ve been joking about bringing in baked goods for our little desk area.  I had bananas that were on their last legs, and I’ve been meaning to make banana bread for a while now.  I added chocolate chips to the recipe; you can never go wrong with chocolate chips.

chocolate_chip_banana_bread

I made the recipe vegan, partially because one of my coworkers is vegan, and I wanted her to be able to eat it, but I was also out of eggs.  Convenient!  This came out so moist, and the vegan chocolate chips were extra chocolately.  I had a piece for dessert that night in the interest of taste testing, and another promptly for breakfast the next morning.  When I brought it into work, it disappeared pretty quickly too.  I took that as a good sign!

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

A tasty recipe that comes together easily, perfect if you have a few bananas on your counter waiting for a recipe.

Ingredients

3/4 cup all purpose flour

3/4 cup spelt flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/3 cup coconut oil

1/2 cup brown sugar, packed

3 large bananas, mashed

1/3 cup almond milk

3/4 cup vegan chocolate chips

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix together the APF, spelt flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt and set aside.
  3. Place your peeled bananas in a large bowl and microwave them for 30s (this will make them easier to mash, and when the bananas are hot, they’ll melt the coconut oil).
  4. Mash the bananas, and add the coconut oil and brown sugar.  Stir to combine.
  5. Add the almond milk to the mixture and continue to mix until homogenous.
  6. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix.
  7. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  8. Oil a bread pan, and pour the batter into the bread pan.
  9. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out of the center clean.

chocolate_chip_banana_bread_closeup

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vegan Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    yum, this looks so good! I haven’t had banana bread in ages, that really needs to change!

  2. I love using coconut oil but haven’t tried baking with almond milk. Also, banana bread is a monthly-must in my apartment. Can’t wait to try this!

  3. Pingback: Pumpkin Walnut Spice Bread | Boston to Berkeley

Leave a Reply

