Pumpkin Walnut Spice Bread

I don’t quite get all the fuss about pumpkin.  I like how seasonal eating feels right, how cold weather makes you want hearty soups and roasted vegetables and maybe some mashed potatoes.  I knew it was fall today when I went into the yoga studio and saw a shoe rack full of boots instead of flip flops.  Seasons changing isn’t as straight forward here in Berkeley as it was in Boston, so instead it’s the arrival of boots, slightly cooler temperatures, and squash at the farmers’ market that lets me know it’s not summer anymore.  Really, when it’s always about 60 degrees, you need some other clues.

warty pumpkin

I had picked up a can of pumpkin at the grocery store a few weeks ago.  I think it leapt into my cart from a holiday end cap.  I certainly don’t remember having it on my list.  Yet there it was in the pantry, staring at me.  So I figured I’d embrace the season and do something with it.  This recipe is adapted from my Chocolate Chip Banana Bread recipe, and to be honest, if I’d had chocolate chips in the house, this would have been chocolate chip pumpkin bread.  That’s still a really good idea, and if you have chocolate chips, I’d recommend that you go for it.  Chocolate chips make everything better.

pumpkin_walnut_bread

 

Pumpkin Walnut Spice Bread

This is the perfect thing to make when you have a can of pumpkin mocking you from your pantry.  And please, don’t be afraid to add chocolate chips.  Really, never be afraid to add chocolate chips.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup spelt flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp cardamom
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix together the APF, spelt flour, baking powder, baking soda, spices and salt and set aside.
  3. Heat your coconut oil in the microwave for 30 seconds, until it is just starting to liquefy.
  4. Add the brown sugar and pumpkin, and stir to combine.
  5. Add the water to the mixture and continue to mix until homogenous.
  6. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix.
  7. Stir in the walnuts.
  8. Oil a bread loaf pan and pour the batter into the bread pan.
  9. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out of the center clean.

pumpkin_walnut_bread_closeup

I should note about cooking times that I have a tiny Ikea convection oven.  It’s essentially an Easy Bake oven for adults.  It doesn’t even fit standard sized cookie sheets.  So please, please, take the cooking times I give you with a grain of salt, and rely instead on watching the baked good and the toothpick test.  I can only guarantee baking times for those similarly afflicted with the Ikea easy bake oven.

 

Are you a big pumpkin fan?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pumpkin Walnut Spice Bread

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    yum, this bread looks so good! I love sweet quick breads, especially in the fall, the flavors you can use are just awesome!

  2. Beth says:

    Thanks, Liz! I definitely agree with your assessment of quick breads. Plus, since I’m biking my baked goods to work they are way more portable than muffins. Just wrap in tin foil and go!

  3. Pingback: Blended Vegetable Soups | Boston to Berkeley

Leave a Reply

