5k Goal, 24:XX

If you follow me on twitter, you probably know that I’m running a 5k tomorrow.  The Mermaid Run San Francisco 5k, to be exact.  All week long, I’ve been thinking “24″.  I went to yoga every day this week and focused on the number 24.  I ran with my lulu run club buddies, and visualized myself sprinting to a 24:XX finish on Saturday.  I daydreamed in meetings of being strong to a 24:XX finish.  Every time a little voice said “that’s really kind of fast for you…” I shut it down and saw the number 24.

I’ve put in some good speed training for this.  Mile repeats at 8:00 pace, 6x800s at 8:00 pace, and 10x400s at an absurd 6:44 pace (apparently I can’t do math while running).  Still, I’m working on busting down this mental block I have.  The one that says an 8:00 pace feels really painfully fast every time I run it.  So I’ll lay out my gear tonight and think 24.  I’ll go to bed thinking 24.  And when it hurts running tomorrow, I’ll think that pain is temporary, but a 24:XX is totally worth it.

I ran the Walnut Creek Run for Education back in September and ran a 26:37.  Taking more than 90 seconds off that time will be tough, but I’m hoping all the dedicated speed work will see me through.  If I don’t make it, I’ll just sign up for another 5k.  That 24:XX will be mine before the end of the year!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 5k Goal, 24:XX

  1. Laura says:

    Good luck with your 5K goal, Beth! It was great to meet and talk with you last night at SJR. 🙂

  2. Beth says:

    Thanks, Laura! It was great to meet you too 🙂 Glad you dropped the word “blog” while we were chatting!

  3. Alisyn says:

    Good luck! I know you can do it! I can’t wait to see you!!

  4. Carolynne says:

    Good luck tomorrow!! I know you can make your goal. My friend ran her 2nd 5K last week and she shaved 3 minutes off her previous (and first ever) 5K. GO YOU!!!

  5. Cate says:

    You’re so ready! Good luck!!!

  6. Pingback: Walnut Creek 5k | Boston to Berkeley

  7. Pingback: Race Recap: Walnut Creek 5k | Boston to Berkeley

Leave a Reply

