Apple Cranberry Turnovers

I had some pie crust leftover from the Butternut Squash and Goat Cheese Tarts I made.  The pie crust recipe came together so easily, and was so flaky, I knew that I couldn’t let the rest of it go to waste.  I thought about using it to make these mini apple pies, which are my current dessert obsession, but I had a fair amount of dough and decided to try my hand at apple turnovers instead.  I seem to have decided that the calories in any dessert are exactly equal to the amount of calories burned while making said dessert.  Better to be baking apple turnovers than eating chocolate chips by the handful, right?

flaky_pie_crust_layers

Just look at those flaky layers! (and please excuse the “I’m baking at 8:30 at night” yellow tint to all of my photos)

cranberry_apple_tart

I cut up one apple, mixed it with sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, cornstarch and some craisins.  If I had real cranberries, I would definitely have used those for the little tart bursts of flavor you would get, but dried cranberries were an acceptable substitute.

Apple Cranberry Turnovers

Ingredients

  • 1 large apple, peeled and chopped into 1/2” chunks
  • 1/4 cup cranberries (fresh or dried)
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp cornstarch
  • 1/2 recipe of this pie crust
  1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Peel and chop the apple.
  3. Mix together the apple, cranberries, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and cornstarch.  Set aside.
  4. Roll out the pie crust and cut in half, so you have approximately two semi-circles.  (these are “rustic” so perfection is completely unneccessary)
  5. Fill half of each semi circle with filling, less than you might expect, about 2-3 tbsp.  You will have filling leftover (which is really tasty to eat as is, straight from the bowl).
  6. Fold the other half of each semi circle over your filling and pinch together the edges (use your fingers or a fork) to close.
  7. Bake at 400 for 15-20 min or until golden.  (Mine took just 16min, but that could be the magic of my Ikea Easy Bake oven)

cranberry_apple_tart_split_open

If you already have pie crust in your fridge, these come together in about ten minutes and make the whole house smell wonderful while they bake.  If you don’t have pie crust in your fridge… well why not? it’s practically a staple!  But you could easily sub in puff pastry or store bought pie crust for these too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

