Rosemary Garlic Olive Oil Bread

When I was thinking about my stuffing recipe, I knew I wanted everything to be as flavorful as possible.  I was also dealing with a competing priority though, which was that I knew come Thanksgiving morning I’d have very limited prep time.  My redeye cross country flight got me into Boston at 7:30AM, and since we were delayed it was actually much closer to 9:00 AM.  I knew there’d be no time for bread baking, and then for letting the bread go stale and using it for stuffing at our actual Thanksgiving celebration.  Luckily I also knew that rosemary garlic bread isn’t that hard to find in any of our grocery stores, so I just had my mom pick up a loaf.

I baked up this loaf of bread during stuffing recipe testing because I’ve been on a massive homemade kick lately.  Also because the smell of this bread baking in your oven will fill the whole house with a warm wintery scent that beats out any candle.

rosemary_garlic_bread

Rosemary Garlic Olive Oil Bread

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cups lukewarm water
  • 2 tsp yeast
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 4 cups bread flour
  • 3 tsp fresh rosemary, chopped (or 1.5 tsp dried rosemary)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • additional flour and olive oil for kneading
  1. Mix together the warm water, yeast and sugar.  Set aside for 5-10min, or until the mixture starts to bubble.  (If your mixture never starts to bubble and you can’t smell the fermentation starting, your water may have been too hot.  Very hot water will kill the yeast)
  2. In a separate bowl sift together the salt, flour, rosemary and garlic.
  3. Add the olive oil to your wet ingredients.
  4. Add about 1/3 of your dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir.  Continue adding your dry ingredients and mixing until all the dry ingredients are fully incorporated, and the dough starts to form a ball in the mixing bowl.
  5. Spread some flour on your work surface, and pour a little olive oil on your hands.  Knead the dough for about 5 min.
  6. Pour about 1 tsp of olive oil into a large, clean mixing bowl, and use your hands or a paper towel to evenly distribute the oil around the surface of the bowl.  Place your ball of dough in the bowl, and cover with a dish towel. 
  7. Let the dough rise in a warm place for 3-4 hours.
  8. When the dough has more than doubled in size, punch it down.  Pull the dough out and divide it into two equal sized balls.  (at this point I also pulled off a ball the size of my fist to use as pizza dough later)
  9. Form the two balls of dough into loaves, and put them on your baking sheet covered with a towel.
  10. Heat your oven to 400 degrees, and allow the loaves to have a brief secondary rising while the oven is preheating.
  11. Bake at 400 degrees for 30 min.  Allow the bread to cool for at least 30 minutes after baking before you slice into it.

rosemary_garlic_oliveoil_bread

Do you bake bread at home?

I bake bread a lot less now that I live in the land of fantastic sourdough bread, but I have missed the wonderful smells.

This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rosemary Garlic Olive Oil Bread

  1. Pingback: Pizza with Vegan Cashew Cheese: Inspired by Gather Restaurant | Boston to Berkeley

  2. I really love the flavor of rosemary this time of year. I can only imagine how good your house smelled as this bread baked!

  3. Kelsy says:

    oh wow. putting this on my list of breads to make!

Leave a Reply

