Juicing: Green Ginger Limeade

I go through bouts of juicing.  Especially during the summer, when our garden was producing more lemon cucumbers and kale than we knew what to do with, juicing was a perfect way to knock out some of that produce and drink some serious nutrients before breakfast.  I’ll replace morning coffee with a big glass of green stuff, and banish any evening panics that I haven’t had enough vegetables in my day. 

green_juice_bright

Lately my afternoon coffee has become an autopilot routine, and I’ll find myself halfway to Starbucks without having made the conscious decision to go.  That’s my usual sign to drop caffeine, and every time I give up caffeine temporarily, I swap in juice.  Green juice is incredibly filling, full of far more vegetables than you could ever eat in a single sitting, and gives me a good morning shot in the arm very similar to my morning coffee.

This is my current favorite juice recipe:

about_to_become_juice

Green Ginger Limeade

  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 Granny Smith apple
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 5-6 kale leaves
  • 1 lime
  • 1” ginger
  1. Process everything in your juicer.  I usually do the lime (and any other citrus) last.
  2. Makes one large pint glass of juice.

green_juice_closeup_best

I use this juicer.  I originally bought it used on Craigslist.

juicer

(photo from Amazon)

I then promptly abused it for nearly three years, brought it across the country with me, and used it almost daily for months.  I thought I’d killed it for sure when I melted through the power cord (an unfortunate incident involving my gas burner and some frightening green sparks), but J rewired it for me, and it was good as new.

It finally broke for real in November, and I was really sad.  When I went looking to see if I could replace it, I feared it would be very expensive (some juicers certainly are).  This Waring juicer had done a fantastic job for me for years and was even easy to clean.  So when I found it on Amazon for just $50, I ordered a replacement on the spot.  I’ve never used another juicer, so I can’t comment on a how a $300 model might be life changing, but I’ve found this one to be reliable and easy to clean.  Pretty much all I ask from my appliances.

Do you own a juicer?  Do you use it? Smile

This entry was posted in Food, Recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Juicing: Green Ginger Limeade

  1. I’m definitely curious about juicing — I love kale but could it possibly taste good in liquid form? Only one way to find out!

  2. Kimra says:

    I’ve never had a juicer, but I think it’s cause I always thought they were super-expensive. But $50?! That’s awesome. I’ve been wanting a better blender for smoothies, but hey, maybe juicing would fulfill the same desire without the Vitamix price tag.

  3. Pingback: Juicing: Green Ginger Limeade | Boston to Berkeley – Best Juicer To Buy Online

  4. SAMANTHA says:

    I am a HUGE advocate of juicing! I have an Omega masticating juicer as well as the Breville..I actually like the Omega better for the greens! I’m going to have to try this recipe out! You might also like my blog on natural health/wellness for some new juice ideas! http://manfonhealth.wordpress.com/ Cheers!

  5. jasminepayne says:

    Yes, please!!! **knocking on door empty glass in hand**

  6. Angela says:

    Totally doing that.

Leave a Reply

