Chocolate Chip Pretzel Granola Bars

I usually keep a box of granola bars at my desk at work.  They’re the perfect 3:00 snack before my afternoon run.  I’ve just run through a whole box of Clif Coconut Chocolate Chip Clif bars, and before that it was a box of Coconut Cream Larabars.  I appreciate the convenience of picking up a box of granola bars, but I knew they had to be pretty easy  make at home myself.

granola_bar_3

I’d picked up the new Peanut Honey Pretzel Luna bar last weekend, and I liked it a lot, but decided to adapt it with some of my favorite flavors.  I’d made a double batch of Ashley’s maple almond butter last weekend and wanted to use it in these bars.

Chocolate Chip Pretzel Granola Bar

The maple almond butter is definitely a more subtle flavor than peanut butter.  You can easily swap in peanut butter for the almond butter and honey for the maple syrup to make a closer match for the new Luna Bar flavor.  This recipe makes 16 bars, and freezes well.

  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup coconut (flaked)
  • 4 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup maple almond butter
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 cup puffed rice cereal
  • 1/2 cup crushed pretzels
  • butter to grease the pan
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  1. Spread the oats and coconut on a cookie sheet and toast in the oven at 350 degrees for 10 minutes or until the coconut is golden.
  2. In a large bowl, mash the bananas and then mix in the maple almond butter and maple syrup until smooth.
  3. Mix the oats, coconut, puffed rice and pretzels into the bananas mixture.
  4. Pour the mixture into a greased 8×12” baking pan.
  5. Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.
  6. When the granola bars have cooled, press the chocolate chips into the top of the bars.  Wait until they’re completely cool before you cut the bars.

granola_bars_FG_closeup

This entry was posted in Baking, Food, Recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Chocolate Chip Pretzel Granola Bars

  1. Christy A. says:

    oh my gosh, those look so good! We buy granola bars all the time, so will definitely be trying these out soon!

    • Beth says:

      Thanks, Christy! Let me know how they turn out for you. I’ve eaten through them so quickly I’ll be making another batch this weekend. This time I’m thinking I’ll go the peanut butter and honey route. Plus I have some peanut butter chips in my pantry that need a job!

  2. Kimra says:

    I might have actually (loudly) said “YES FINALLY!” when my local store got the Peanut Honey Pretzel Luna bars this week, but adding chocolate sounds even better. I don’t love bananas, but I’m guessing the other flavors are strong enough that I wouldn’t notice them so much…

    • Beth says:

      the bananas mostly just add some sweetness and moisture. I definitely didn’t feel like these tasted strongly of banana, but I like banana, so it wouldn’t have bothered me. Let me know if you make them! I will be making a peanut butter and honey version this weekend. I liked making my own granola bars a lot, even if they don’t have a cute wrapper 🙂

  3. Ashley says:

    Ohhh my word do these look so good!!! I love that you used the maple almond butter. 🙂

  4. Ahhh! These look absolutely delicious, Beth! I’m always a fan of homemade granola bars!

  5. Pingback: Recipe: Honey Peanut Butter Pretzel Granola Bars | Boston to Berkeley

  6. Pingback: Salted Caramel Pretzel Cookies and Whoopie Pies | Boston to Berkeley

Leave a Reply

